My Journey to Self Respect: Exercise & Weight Loss


bigstock-Photo-of-happy-boy-looking-at-46137430-864x577You’re a fat ass,” is what I heard him say. In reality, my doctor actually had a much more eloquent and scientific way of putting it. I was 6’1”, 260 pounds and I needed to make drastic changes. Fast. The most persuasive argument he made was that I should do it for my soon-to-be-born son. He asked about my diet, and I confessed to having no restrictions. He encouraged portion control and eliminating snacking, but his recommendations stopped there and I was unsure where to begin in the baffling world of diets. Then we spoke about exercise. My admission that my fitness routine consisted of a weekly co-ed slow pitch softball league was met with unfettered laughter.
My doctor said enough to frighten me, and I jumped on the high-protein, low-carb diet bandwagon and half-heartedly (pun intended) engaged in 15 minutes of aerobic exercise per day. The diet part was easy – I ate everything I was already eating, but took out the carbs. And the exercise…let’s just say I did it. I hated every second of it, and it totally sucked. But I did it.

via My Journey to Self Respect: Exercise & Weight Loss.

Leave a Reply

