Top 5 reading list


“You are what you read” this is a quote from Mathew Kelly, a Catholic speaker and author, one that I would recommend everyone should listen to and read. (website)

I agree with Mathew, reading is one of the most important activities anyone can do. What we read will help shape our lives, our outlook, morals and our faith. I am asked by friends what books they should read or what books I read. And my list is long and eclectic, I read for entertainment for my soul and mind. My books, magazines and newspapers cover the gamete of topics. Political, Catholic, faith, history, mysteries and on and on. Each and every book, newspaper and magazine I read helps to define me. Some books, newspapers and magazines conflict with my world view others help to strengthens it and others challenge it. But I read… mostly to help me grow my mind and soul.

The internet offers us the opportunity to truly get volumes of information on any topic within moments, and that, in-of-its-self is a good thing, but it can also lead to wrong conclusions or misinformation.  We have to be diligent in this information society and make sure we are reading accrete information. But that is not always easy…

But on to the point of this blog, it is a question that I would like everyone to respond to:

What 5 books would you make mandatory for everyone to read?

Here is my list:

  1. The Bible
  2. The Power of Intent (Dr. Wayne Dyer)
  3. Oh, the Places you’ll go (Dr. Seuss)
  4. The Catcher in the Rye (J. D. Salinger)
  5. The Dark Tower [The Gunslinger] (Stephen King)

The list is not complete, but I chose 5 books from different styles of reading I do, each offers an opportunity to escape and grow. This would be my 5 books everyone should read…

So what is your top 5 list…. Please share

God Bless

Paul

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

